-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OutOfMemoryError
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 2:13 pm 
Beginner
Beginner

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:31 pm
Posts: 21
Location: This Life - Planet Earth
when generating artifacts and trying to do a reverse database generation I get :

!SUBENTRY 2 org.hibernate.eclipse.console.HibernateConsolePlugin 4 150 2005-02-23 12:49:31.765
!MESSAGE <no message>
!STACK 0
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError

My database is big about 100 tables easily + views etc.. Is this the cause ?
How do I work around it ? Still tryn options

-- Jenn

_________________
Animals are my friends... and I don't eat my friends. ~George Bernard Shaw


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: known bug
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:39 am 
Beginner
Beginner

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:31 pm
Posts: 21
Location: This Life - Planet Earth
Ok I read the forums looks like this is a known bug, and it will be fixed. Do we know when ;-).
Jenn

_________________
Animals are my friends... and I don't eat my friends. ~George Bernard Shaw


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: my solutions
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:55 am 
Beginner
Beginner

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:31 pm
Posts: 21
Location: This Life - Planet Earth
Ok I go the tool to do some artifact generation.
heres the sum of what I learnt so far. Hope it helps others:


Out of memory errors:

Cause due to a known bug - Max says in anothe rpost "the out of memory error might be caused by a connection leak we have. will be fixed", some folks have luck "started eclipse from commandline with -vmargs and increased the allocated memory".
My schema was very big (huge) so this didnt help.

Unable to see schema or no code generated but no errors:
Oracle is case sensetive or as MAx said in one post "yes oracle is non-symmetrical case sensitive...pain to debug ,)"
I upper cased all of the folowing and it worked:

<property name="hibernate.connection.password">PASSWORD</property>
<property name="hibernate.connection.username">USERNAME</property>
<property name="hibernate.default_schema">SOMEADMSCH</property>

maximum open cursors exceeded error
Max says "caused by a connection leak we have. will be fixed." use a combination of setting the default schema in hibernate and increased jvm memory to waork around,.

Will update as I go through more issues:

Jenn

_________________
Animals are my friends... and I don't eat my friends. ~George Bernard Shaw


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:45 am 
Beginner
Beginner

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:26 am
Posts: 20
I get this error too.
my solution is, start eclipse with command line args.
if you use windows, create a new file as start_eclipse.bat in eclipse run folder,
in it's content, add following line
eclipse.exe -vmargs -Xmx1024M
This can work.

_________________
OR maping? not familar. seems easy select, hard delete/update


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:59 am 
Senior
Senior

Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 122
Location: Cologne, Germany
Better create a shortcut instead of a bat file. Where Target = C:\eclipse\eclipse.exe -vmargs -Xmx1024m for example. Same applies to Linux where you might put the -vmargs param after the eclipse.sh.

_________________
regards

Olaf

vote if it helped


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
© Copyright 2014, Red Hat Inc. All rights reserved. JBoss and Hibernate are registered trademarks and servicemarks of Red Hat, Inc.