-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Possible limitation with Hibernate 3.0 collections?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:48 pm 

I'm using Hibernate version 3.0 Final.

I'm new to Hibernate but in the past I've built an O/R mapping layer for another product that supports a feature I've not seen in Hibernate 3.0 - or at least not yet figured out how to use. So this is either a suggestion or a request for advice.

What I think is lacking in Hibernate is that all collections appear to require a foreign key; in other words they must be part of an association. Right?

What I want to do is to be able to navigate an entire object model via a single top level 'Model' class that exposes a small number of collections (much like foriegn key association collections) that span an entire table (no foreign key filter). For example, suppose we have User and Group objects and a bidirectional association between them. The User and Group classes both have Id and Name properties. Our Model class might expose Users and Groups Map collections indexed by their Name. We can use these collections to Add/Remove User and Group objects and find them by Name.