-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: Validator: constrain when two groups are "active"
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:55 am 

Hi all,

I am new to Bean Validation and the first task I picked up is defining validation constraints for a third-party model (FHIR DSTU2).

The first problem is that the model has to be validated from two input sources with different constraints.
Because of this I defined two validation groups so that the constraints can be different for the inputs.

The second problem is that some of the properties are inherited and they have different constraints for different subclasses.
To solve this I redefine the Default group sequence to include a Group specific to the subclass. In the super class I can use this Group to define the constraint needed by the subclass.

And now the combined problem: I have to create constraints for inherited properties that are different for the two inputs. Following the previous approach that would require to check for the simultaneous presence of validation groups - i.e. enabling a constraint when BOTH groups are active.
However, I think no such thing is possible in Bean Validation.

Or is there a solution?
Thank you in advance,
Csaba

Post subject: Re: Validator: constrain when two groups are "active"
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:30 am 
Hibernate Team
Hibernate Team

Hi,

Could you provide a small example of what you want to achieve?

I feel you may be better off using either XML-based constraints (with one mapping file per "input source") or using the HV API for programmatic constraint definition which allows you to declare constraints in a dynamic fashion, again based on the specific "input source".

Hth,

--Gunnar