-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: what about using clone or copy constructors?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 2:39 pm 
Regular
Regular

I just finished reading 312. Wouldn't it be possible to use clone() or copy constructors or something to have the best of both worlds? I mean the DTO would still be a POJO, but it wouldn't be a hibernate proxied class. ie. The LazyInitializationException would only happen during cloning.

IMHO, this is a DTO solution without a separate heirarchy. I don't need hibernate jars on my client as the client only receives POJO's.

Am I on crack? I am just a newb to this.
thanks,
dean

Hibernate version:

Mapping documents:

Code between sessionFactory.openSession() and session.close():

Full stack trace of any exception that occurs:

Name and version of the database you are using:

The generated SQL (show_sql=true):

Debug level Hibernate log excerpt:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 2:57 pm 
Regular
Regular

just read p391's NOTE: Wouldn't it be possible to do clone()(underlying would probably be copy constructor of course) and then the hibernate libs would not have to exist client-side??? Does this not give the advantage of DTO without dual heirarchy??? complete newb asking. Of course, when someone went and invoked a persistence accessing method like getMaxBidAmount, it would result in a NoClassDefError which I would think would be acceptable as you only should be using the get/set methods on the presentation tier except maybe for some other minor methods like getName returning first and last name or something. thoughts????

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 6:39 pm 
Hibernate Team
Hibernate Team