-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: The rules changed while I wan't looking?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:16 pm 

I'm very new to Hibernate. In fact I haven't even had a chance to try it yet. But I've been reading Hibernate in Action, and I've been lurking around the forums, and suddenly it seems that everything I thought I knew about database design has turned out to be wrong.

For instance, why are composite keys bad? Why does the book keep using the dirty word "legacy" when referring to them? Why is table-per-class-hierarchy recommended over table-per-subclass? Consider the following structure (only keys are shown):

Code:
create table Party (
  party_id int not null primary key
);

create table Person (
  party_id int not null primary key references Party(party_id)
);

create table Organization (
  party_id int not null primary key references Party(party_id)
);

create table RoleType (
  role_type_id int not null primary key
);

create table RelationshipType (
  from_role_type_id int not null references RoleType(role_type_id),
  to_role_type_id int not null references RoleType(role_type_id),
  primary key (from_role_type_id, to_role_type_id)
);

create table Relationship (
  from_party_id int not null references Party(party_id),
  to_party_id int not null references Party(party_id),
  from_role_type_id int not null,
  to_role_type_id int not null,
  primary key (from_party_id, to_party_id, from_role_type_id, to_role_type_id),
  constraint fk_Relationship_RelationshipType
    foreign key(from_role_type_id, to_role_type_id) references
    RelationshipType(from_role_type_id, to_role_type_id)
);