-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1 post ] 
 Post subject: How to remove items from a collection by using HQL?
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 10:16 pm 

Hi all,

I'm new to hibernate, trying to grasp the hibernate style of programming. I have a many to many relationship between the following entities DMap and MapablePoint:
Code:
@Entity(name = "Map")
public class DMap
{
   @ManyToMany(cascade = {CascadeType.PERSIST, CascadeType.MERGE}, fetch = FetchType.LAZY)
   //@MapKey(targetElement = String.class)
   @JoinTable(name="map_mapable",
      joinColumns=@JoinColumn(name="map_ID", referencedColumnName="ID"),
      inverseJoinColumns=@JoinColumn(name="mapable_ID", referencedColumnName="ID")
   )
   @javax.persistence.MapKey
   public Map<String, MapablePoint> getPointsByKey() { return pointsByKey; }

}

I need to delete some MapablePoints given their IDs and the map's ID. I'm able to do that by using this:

Code:
   @Transactional(propagation=Propagation.REQUIRED)
   public void disassociateMapable(Long mapId, Set<Long> mapableIds)
   {
      String s = "from Map map " +
         " left join fetch map.pointsByKey As mapPointsByKey " +
         " where map.id=:mapId ";
      Query query = _entityManager.createQuery(s);
      query.setParameter("mapId", mapId);

DMap map = (DMap)query.getSingleResult();

for(Long id : mapableIds)
      {
         MapablePoint p = map.getPointsByKey().remove(id);
      }
   }

In this code I load the map and all its MapablePoints in order to delete the few ones I need to delete.
I'm looking for a more elegant way to delete the specified points by using HQL. But I can not find the proper example to remove elements from a collection by using HQL.