-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Problem with Hbernate first level cache
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:46 am 

Hi all,

I've just had it with hibernate. I'm new to the tool but I'm faced with a problem that I thought was simple. I'm adding new users to the database in one application (web application) and just can't seem to see the newly added users in another application (james mail application).

Obviously there seems to be some caching mechanism (according to what I've read - the first-level cache). But how can I achieve what I really want which is to have one application immediately see new records added by another totally different application.

I've tried SessionFactory.evict() but it isn't giving me what I need. I've even tried a StatelessSession but it too isn't solving the problem.

I can only get to see the new users when I shutdown and restart which is clearly not desirable. I've tried reading what I think is every thing about caches but I must be missing something trivial here.

One thing is that I've tested with JDBC and it works perfect. The problem must be with the first level cache since I've disabled the second level cache.

What must I do?

Regards

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:00 am 
Regular
Regular

it looks like u have one session opened during whole life of app?

sessionFactory.evict() doesnt help you, cause this evict object from 2dn lvl cache.