-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: how are column alias names generated?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:06 pm 

Okay dont beat me up too bad, this is my first time posting on this forum.

My lead is thinking of trying to lock oracle 10g plans for hiberante queries. I was looking at the generated sql and I see some items that make me nervous. One thing is the column aliases.

For example:

select alertdo0_.DC_ALERT_SYSID as DC1_23_, alertdo0

Where does the "23" part come from? I run in JBoss and always get "23", but when I run outside the container in JUnit I get a different number, but it is consistent as well.

Locking oracle plans requires identical SQL each time. I am feeling like this is a bad idea to attempt with generated SQL, certainly wont work for variable length "IN" clauses. But if the column aliases are not gauranteed to stay constant simply will not work for anything.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:42 pm 

We've noticed the same thing. Stumbled across this post searching for how to lock the column aliases down for the same reason - want to use Oracle 10g SQL Profiles. We need to workaround random, infrequent problems with Oracle using the wrong execution plan.

Yes, I know we can use query hints, but SQL Profiles looked like a nicer option, and something the DBA could have done without needing developer time.

Anyways, we've noticed that when running the application normally, the number is the position of the table in the Hibernate configuration file. So, I suspect the table you are querying from is the 23rd (or 22nd, might be zero-based) in the list in your configuration.