-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: Many-to-many collections retrieval & filtering logic
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:09 pm 

Hibernate version: 2

Hi, I am a newbie in hibernate and definitely confused.

I have a classic many-to-many relation (e.g. Category and Item). The relational table doesn't have it's own id but uses a combined key consisting of the 2 foreign keys (e.g <CAT_ID, ITEM_ID>). Both collections (Category.items, Item.Categories) are lazy loaded.

I want to retrieve the Item.Categories ids without loading the categories collection.

My first approach was using a query like
Code:
select cat.id from Category cat where :item in elements(cat.items)

My second approach trying to avoid inner selections was
Code:
select cats.id from Item item join item.categories cats  where item = :item

Both of them worked fine, but then I was urged to use filtering, so here are my questions :

1) Is there any point trying to use filtering in this case if the collection may not be initialized or referenced (net.sf.hibernate.LazyInitializationException)?
2) If yes how can I do this? What filter should I use (e.g. "select this.id").
3) What is the practical difference with the previous approaches?

Thanks in advance for your time.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:45 pm 
Regular
Regular

First of all if you have declared many to many relationship in both direction you can simply do:

item = session.load( Item.class, id );

Set<Category> categories = item.getCategories();

that is all.

If for some reason there is not item.categories and only category.items than you may use this query:

select c.id from Category c join c.items i where i = :chosenItem