-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to add a new Dialect?
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 2:24 pm 
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 2:16 pm
Posts: 3
Is there any documentation on how to add a new Dialect?

I'm trying to add one; I compiled the dialect code into its separate jar (and put it in the classpath) but Hibernate still can't find it. But when I build the hibernate3.jar (with the dialect inside) myself; hibernate finds it.

I thought adding dialects should be as simple as dropping in a jar as long as I extent/implement appropriate classes; is that not so?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 3:21 pm 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 3:59 pm
Posts: 75
You've got to use the hibernate.dialect property.
Trying to discover classes implementing/extending a class based on what's available on the classpath is usually not feasible/not a good idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to add a new Dialect?
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:51 pm 
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 2:16 pm
Posts: 3
Yes I have set the hibernate.dialect property and I am asking it to pick the new dialect and I am still seeing the exception.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 1:29 pm 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 3:59 pm
Posts: 75
What exception are you seing ?
I think your problem is more classpath related than Hibernate related.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 10:13 pm 
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 2:16 pm
Posts: 3
I resolved this.

I wrote a test class and did a Class.forName("dialect-name") and found that the class loader was complaining about one of the manifest entries within the dialect jar.

I changed the manifest entry and it worked after that. The manifest entry contained illegal characters like '/' and a space.

The exception I was getting from hibernate was not telling me what exactly was wrong. Only when I tried to load the class explicitly I knew what was wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
© Copyright 2014, Red Hat Inc. All rights reserved. JBoss and Hibernate are registered trademarks and servicemarks of Red Hat, Inc.