-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: Update based on key only
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:29 am 

I'm new to Hibernate, so I'm sure this is a simple question...

I'm using Hibernate version 3.1.2.

I have a simple Person object which contains three fields: id, name and age. Id is primary key. This Person object maps to a Person table in the db which contains the same fields.

I want to update the age of an existing person in the db by just giving id and the age.

Code:
Code:
Person thePerson = new Person();
thePerson.setId(38);
thePerson.setAge(22);
// thePerson.setName("test"); This line is commented out

session = HibernateUtil.getSessionFactory().openSession();
transaction = session.beginTransaction();
session.update(thePerson);
transaction.commit();
session.close();

When I run this code I get an error (see stack trace below). The problem is that i MUST call thePerson.setName("test") for the code to work. Why?? I don't want that....

I only want to set the id and the age so that Hibernate simply generates SQL (i'm using mysql) like this: update person set age=22 where id=38

It looks like that when I don't set either the age or the name attribute in the thePerson object, Hibernate tries to set the fields to NULL in the db by default. How can I avoid this?

Here's the stacktrace:
Quote:
2006-03-27 13:14:25,074 | ERROR | HandleDB.java | editPerson() | 263 | Transaction failed!
org.hibernate.exception.GenericJDBCException: Could not execute JDBC batch update
at org.hibernate.exception.SQLStateConverter.handledNonSpecificException(SQLStateConverter.java:91)
at org.hibernate.exception.SQLStateConverter.convert(SQLStateConverter.java:79)