-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Proxool problem?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:27 am 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:13 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Paris, France
Since I work with Hibernate2.1final, I've got the following exception when I close the SessionFactory instance (I work with the 'Open session in view' pattern) :

14-12-2003 18:55:53 ERROR org.logicalcobwebs.proxool.ShutdownHook:62 - Problem calling "get cause" on IllegalStateException.
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:324)
at org.logicalcobwebs.proxool.ShutdownHook.remove(ShutdownHook.java:40)
at org.logicalcobwebs.proxool.ProxoolFacade.shutdown(ProxoolFacade.java:238)
at org.logicalcobwebs.proxool.ProxoolFacade.shutdown(ProxoolFacade.java:220)
at org.logicalcobwebs.proxool.ShutdownHook.run(ShutdownHook.java:99)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:534)
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalStateException: Shutdown in progress
at java.lang.Shutdown.remove(Shutdown.java:102)
at java.lang.Runtime.removeShutdownHook(Runtime.java:218)
... 9 more


Any idea ?
Thank you.
Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 6:56 am 
Beginner
Beginner

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:01 am
Posts: 34
Location: florence, italy
I got it fixed by using the proxool 0.8.3 which they released yesterday http://proxool.sourceforge.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:07 am 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:13 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Paris, France
peterpumpkin wrote:
I got it fixed by using the proxool 0.8.3 which they released yesterday http://proxool.sourceforge.net/


I believed you need a special proxool version to work with hibernate, can you use the regular proxool releases ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:37 am 
Beginner
Beginner

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:01 am
Posts: 34
Location: florence, italy
I dunno what the hib team mandates. It works for me, and from the proxool site:
Quote:
14 December 2003 - 0.8.3 Changes to allow Proxool to work with Cglib 2.0. If you upgraded to Hibernate 2.1 then you will need to upgrade to Proxool 0.8.3. See the change log for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:46 am 
Beginner
Beginner

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:01 am
Posts: 34
Location: florence, italy
Actually, what I told you before is the right thing to do: this is from hib developers forum:
Quote:
Proxool 0.8.3 is a drop in replacement for the Proxool Jar file distributed with Hibernate.
You can get Proxool from http://proxool.sourceforge.net.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 12:19 pm 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:13 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Paris, France
Hum, I removed the previous proxool lib, added the new proxool 0.8.3., and I have still the error ..., am I the only one to get this error ? :

Arr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 1:49 pm 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:13 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Paris, France
The very first time, I've got :

Arr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:10 pm 
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:02 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Scotland
dharma wrote:
Hum, I removed the previous proxool lib, added the new proxool 0.8.3., and I have still the error ..., am I the only one to get this error ? :

Arr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:12 pm 
Pro
Pro

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 8:07 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I don't get the error when running junit from the command line, but do get the error when running junit inside NetBeans.

_________________
Cheers,
Shorn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:43 pm 
Pro
Pro

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 8:07 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Using the latest proxool seemed to solve the issue for me.

_________________
Cheers,
Shorn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:47 pm 
Pro
Pro

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 8:07 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Oops, sorry, I'm a liar. Still breaks in NetBeans. The tests run fine, I get the error (the "get cause" one) when I shut the junit GUI down.

_________________
Cheers,
Shorn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 4:47 am 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 1:13 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Paris, France
Ok, I can confirm it's under JDK1.4 and with any proxool release that the bug appears. If you say it's not grave, I can become quiet now.
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Fixed in next release
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:19 am 
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:02 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Just to confirm: this issue is fixed in Proxool CVS and will be part of the next release. The bug is that the code logs something as an error that it should be silently ignoring. (It happens if the JVM starts to shutdown before Proxool has been shutdown).

Cheers,
Bill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: you can try it as following.
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:18 am 
Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:40 pm
Posts: 5
Location: ZhongShan,China
when you finally shutdown the Connection,you can add these code as following:

if (connection != null) {
connection.close();
ProxoolFacade pf= new ProxoolFacade();
pf.shutdown(1);
}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Clarification
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:27 am 
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:02 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Scotland
To be clear, you should only call shutdown() when you application is closing, not everytime you close a connection.

Also, because shutdown() is a static method, you don't need to instantiate ProxoolFacade. Just call ProxoolFacade.shutdown().

Cheers,
Bill

P.S. I notice that this conversation is nearly two years old! We still haven't made a new release of Proxool but have made a lot of changes in CVS and a release is well overdue. I would recommend that most people check out the latest code from CVS and take advantage of its many fixes. As ever, this is at your own risk. We've done lots of testing on it and whilst we can't say it is a stable release until we have done a formal release there are no known problems.[/quote]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
© Copyright 2014, Red Hat Inc. All rights reserved. JBoss and Hibernate are registered trademarks and servicemarks of Red Hat, Inc.