-->
These old forums are deprecated now and set to read-only. We are waiting for you on our new forums!
More modern, Discourse-based and with GitHub/Google/Twitter authentication built-in.

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Why hibernate is so popular????
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 2:02 pm 

I am a long time j2ee developer. I worked with many dao products in the past. I admitted I only worked with few projects that involved hibernate. I found it relatively hard to use (i.e. defining complex entity relationships, restrictive default one class one table model, difficulty of upgrading to a newer hibernate..etc ) comparing to other products like ibatis. I guess I would really like to understand why hibernate is still fairly popular despite its learning curve? What are the strengths of hibernate?

Post subject: Re: Why hibernate is so popular????
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:45 am 
Regular
Regular

hi,

i might not be able to fully describe it to you nor will i try to convince against hibernate

so the thing is as u mentioned about ibatis/mybatis and assuming that you have worked on ibatis/mybatis and hibernate as well

yes there are other things that are very simple; and if the things are simple they are easier to implement right ?
so in hibernate here has much more things; try to explore it from the docs like sharding, search, .... which i guess are not in ibatis/mybatis

my point is that it totally depends upon your requirements and how you want to do it;

for example in a small project using simple mvc framework and with less complex database and architecture i will definitely go for hibernate alternatives (like ibatis) to make my project simple; since there is no need of hifi orm, sharding, ...